Skip to content

DISTRACTED

July 6, 2011

Dear Critic,

 

Yes., you’re right…

I have been terribly distracted at times. I have been like a child seduced by candy and flashing lights.

Today, I would agree with you and yet add that I’ve been much better than I usually am after returning from a long weekend back to the office.

I’ve done well in prioritizing… and then I got distracted. And then I got back to doing what’s most important and then I got distracted again!! And so it has gone, all day!

It is worst right now…  at this moment. I want to  go on Facebook and also browse 4 sites and also send multiple messages and texts to people. My mind is flipping like channels on a TV set when nothing really interesting is to be found.

Truth is… that I am afraid. If I were to do what I need to do most right now and persistent doing these few tasks to the best of my abilities until I was done a few hours later… well… I may just:

A)  Miss out on something else that is going on?

B)  Fail at doing them well enough and feel bad about the quality of my work?

C)  Not get everything done and feel UN accomplished?

D) All of the above.

Ahhh, I felt my face twitch upon reading B.

Looks like I got another “Dear Critic” entry to write: this one about being a “FAILURE“.

Thanks for helping me see that was what was really going on.

Off I go to tackle my business.

When the dust clears, I will face the big F!

Grateful,

David

One Comment leave one →
  1. Maria permalink
    July 14, 2011 5:47 pm

    Oh my! It’s true. for me I would say all of the above. I’ve had quite a few days like this since our wedding weekend. I thought I was incapable. I just wasn’t cutting it. I feared that someone would eventually notice that I was not getting any work done and reprimand me. Slowly, I do get things done. I notice most often, that it is not actually the task that needs to be done that prevents me from finishing something- it is some emotion surrounding the thing I feel is the “issue”. I realize now after reading this post, that I actually create distractions to not deal with the emotions.

Leave a comment